Inspiring yoga videos… and knowing not to take yourself too seriously

Lately I’ve been reading more about yoga through blogs and different articles online, reading tweets etc … And, I’ve come across some pretty amazing videos!

You know all those videos, themed Sh*! ‘people’ say? The kinda stuff girls, yogis, Asian mothers, Italian nonnas, Arab fathers say etc. I recently came across two such videos… ‘$hit new age girls say’ and ‘$hit yogis say’. Scarily enough I see some aspects of myself turning in that direction… and that while living in Kosovo with only 1 or 2 yoga teachers actively teaching; I can only imagine what I would be like if I were living in Vancouver or California!

But back to the serious beauty of yoga – this Equinox video with Briohny Smyth, a Thai-Australian yoga instructor, just blew me away. The music is fantastic too. All of it, sheer beauty.

And, yet, apparently it caused some controversy because she was in her knickers, but hey, at least someone has a sense of humor and did a ‘cover version’ so to speak …

But my favorite, inspirational yogic video in a long time: the December Yoga Rave in Vancouver organized by Lulu Lemon and inspired by my Kundalini yoga teacher, Gloria Latham. Yes, she’s the one at 1:26 mins flashing that gorgeous smile. Gloria is an amazing person and teacher and you can see in the video just how much she energizes and inspires the crowd – I LOVE IT! The video makes me want to organize a yoga rave here in Kosovo (maybe next year once I’ve completed my yoga teacher training).

Aaaaah… the yoga world… living in Kosovo I’m blissfully protected from all the controversies but at least I get to access some of the good stuff too online when I’m not doing my home DVD practice 😉

About transitiongirl

Yogini/yoga teacher, budding photographer, diver, development worker, on a journey of discovery and transition, now in Kosovo
This entry was posted in Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Inspiring yoga videos… and knowing not to take yourself too seriously

  1. Marianne says:

    I love the idea of a yoga rave! And Kundalini is definitely the right style of yoga for a rave. I hope you do something like this one day.

  2. ko0ty says:

    Awesome videos! I’ve been trying to get into yoga too. It’s definitely not my type of workout but i can see why people love it.

  3. Natasha Hanshaw says:

    Hi, I’ve been looking for a place to do yoga in Pristina, do you know anywhere? Would love any tips/recommendations!!! Thanks!! Natasha

Leave a Reply

