The painful truth …

While I’ve always believed in telling the truth, I haven’t  thought about what it really means in concrete terms. And, while we’re taught to ‘tell the truth’ from childhood onwards, we also learn that sometimes the truth can be painful, that sometimes it’s better to hide or avoid it, in order to save someone’s feelings from getting hurt.

Since the moment I found out my mum died, I stopped thinking about the truth in that way. The raw pain I was experiencing drowned out everything else, I didn’t have a choice but to share my truth, the truth of my mum and how she died, the truth of my pain.

Now, each person will have his or her own unique way of grieving the death of a loved one, that is for sure. For me, the way I coped was to speak the truth, to share my feelings, to process them and let them out into the open.

While I inherently knew that some would feel uncomfortable (who likes talking about death anyway ?), I would always preface my ‘outbursts’ with statements like,  “you don’t have to feel bad”, “death is a normal part of life”. Death and dying is a common human experience after all that we will all experience, if we are lucky ! (meaning, if we outlive the ones we love).

So I spoke the truth, and sharing my pain is what has helped me survive.

About transitiongirl

Yogini/yoga teacher, budding photographer, diver, development worker, on a journey of discovery and transition, now in Kosovo
This entry was posted in Grieving, Truth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The painful truth …

  1. I hope you will not mind me sending my condolences to you. I just started reading your blogs through the Girl Effect blogging campaign and I loved what you wrote. Your mother is proud of you I am sure.

    Again, my sincere condolences.

    – Bibhuti

  2. Thanks Bibhuti, your words really warm my heart …

  3. It’s a special thing that your mother inspired you to express your truth, the one thing she would have always wanted.
    this is beautiful, thank you for sharing – shared pain makes it easier for us all to accept in our lives.

    xx

Leave a Reply

