You’re on holiday…

Sunset view of the Acropolis from the bar at A for Athens Hotel

Well, I don’t know if you are, but I am… Here I am sitting at my hotel’s very funky bar, overlooking the Acropolis, drinking a very lush espresso ice coffee – I hate the Nescafe ones, I’m Italian ok?  – I should be out roaming the streets of Athens, exploring the ruins, visiting churches, charming neighborhoods and the like, heck, at least a little bit of shopping no? On the other hand, I AM ON HOLIDAY. To me that means: relax, slow down, go with the flow, be in the moment, in short, I don’t want to feel guilty for not doing enough while here. The staff here at the A for Athens Hotel are just marvelous and this morning the receptionist helped me to remember why I’m in Greece. I had woken up quite early to get a head start on the day (get out and about early to avoid the midday sun, to avoid the lines, etc. etc.) For different reasons I had to run in and out of the hotel a few times and each time I asked the kind receptionist for assistance.  When I finally left, I said “oh, sorry, I’m definitely leaving now” to which he  responded: “ Don’t worry, you’re on holiday!”

View of the Mediterranean from Kythira island

Tomorrow morning I fly to Kythira, the only Greek island on the corner of the three seas: the Ionian, Adriatic and Aegean Sea… it’s remote, it will be quiet, I will do yoga, time to relax.

Today I will enjoy my afternoon, sipping coffee, admiring the view of the Acropolis, and the ruins of the ancient Temple of Parthenon dedicated to the Greek goddess of Athena whom the people of Athens considered their patron. (Indeed, the little bit of sightseeing I did muster involved a short but worthwhile visit to the awesome New Acropolis Museum.)

So, don’t forget, when you’re on holiday, just relax…

About transitiongirl

Yogini/yoga teacher, budding photographer, diver, development worker, on a journey of discovery and transition, now in Kosovo
This entry was posted in Athens, Greece, Kythira, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You’re on holiday…

Leave a Reply

