Happy Mother’s Day and how you can send some love to Afghanistan

On this mother’s day I’d like to honor my mum in the best way possible. People plant trees, write memoirs, throw the ashes of their loved one into the ocean – my mum would have loved that, she was like a fish!

Those left behind create memorial websites, hold memorial services … yet none of these worthwhile and loving acts seem appropriate to me. Too much fanfare… and I suppose, I feel like there might not be the need for such a singular gesture as I carry her in my heart each and every moment, she is in my spirit and is a part of me always.

No, today I’d rather pay tribute to my mum in the context of all the love I receive from so many loving friends and family members, including a sister, two aunts, wonderful cousins. Instead of the one mother I knew before, losing her has only helped me realize how many loving and nurturing women I have around me.

On Mother’s Day today (at least in America), I want to honor and share the peace and love with all the women and mothers of the world. So I’m sending some love and support to Suraya in Afghanistan by creating a dedication to my ‘mama’ at To Mama With Love, and making a donation.

Suraya founded Voice of Women, an organisation dedicated to serving and supporting Afghan women, and is a a friend and colleague of Marianne, one of the many inspiring  women on the web I’ve met ‘online’, who writes, advocates for human rights and teaches yoga (amongst many other things).

If you would also like to make a donation that will reach Suraya and her organization, and if you want to strengthen the connection between people, then visit this webpage.

How did you honor your mother (or all the mothers in your life) today?

About transitiongirl

Yogini/yoga teacher, budding photographer, diver, development worker, on a journey of discovery and transition, now in Kosovo
This entry was posted in Afghanistan, Inspirations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Mother’s Day and how you can send some love to Afghanistan

  1. Marianne says:

    Thank you so much, and much love to you and all the mothers in your life.

Leave a Reply

